Stations of The Cross at St Mary’s

Every Friday during Lent, the Devotion called Stations of The Cross takes place moving around the Parish.

What is Stations of The Cross?

The Stations of the Cross or the Way of the Cross, also known as the Way of Sorrows or the Via Crucis, refers to a series of images depicting Jesus Christ on the day of his crucifixion and accompanying prayers. The stations grew out of imitations of Via Dolorosa in Jerusalem which is believed to be the actual path Jesus walked to Mount Calvary. The object of the stations is to help the Christians faithful to make a spiritual pilgrimage through contemplation of the Passion of Christ.

The first three Stations of The Cross inside St Mary’s.

The style, form, and placement of the stations vary widely. The typical stations are small plaques with reliefs or paintings placed around a church nave.

Future dates of the Devotion:

St Mary’s – 29th March

St Patrick’s – 5th April

The Good Shepherd – 12th April

All at 7:00pm. Please join us if you can!